Being a PoC in Japan: Emmanuel

I have never really understood the idea of being a ‘person of color,’ but being in Japan has taught me what it means in ways I did not expect.

Being a Filipino and having lived my entire life in the Philippines, I have always felt literally ‘comfortable in my own skin.’ I did not have to worry about standing out and being different because I was in a place where I was the ‘norm.’ So when I was thrust into the world of being a JET Programme ALT, and started being classified among people of color among my White co-ALTs, my sassy, ignorant thought was: “Well, you guys are in Asia. I suppose YOU are the people of color,” if it even works like that. The idea of labelling people based on the color of their skin was alien to me, and I hated it. And I intended to bring that sense of equality within the predominantly White JET Programme.

It turns out, I didn’t even have to worry about that, because the people I had to stand up to were the ones I thought were ‘my kind.’

The Philippines has been part of the JET Programme only since 2014, and because of that, there is still limited knowledge about the Philippines and the English teaching capability of Filipino ALTs, never mind the fact that in the Philippines, JET Programme applicants have to be professional English teachers. When I began my job as an ALT, there was an instance where I was regarded less than my counterparts because I was “from the Philippines.” Without going into details, let me just say that it was my first real feeling of racial discrimination. A licensed English teacher with 13 years of experience was worth less than anyone else, because of where he came from. I felt disappointed and sad of the realization that I had to prove harder that I was worthy of being here.

I have also received other odd and insensitive questions from people, like “Do you Filipinos think working in Japan will make you rich?” and “Why can you speak English if you grew up in the Philippines?” I have also been asked to pay a cover charge in a bar – and not my other foreigner friends – because I was Filipino.

But through all these, only one thing was clear in my mind: I was not going to let it affect my notion that Japan is a beautiful country with beautiful people, and that all I needed to be was a good representation of my country and maintain professional conduct as an English teacher. I became very active in representing my country in every way possible, from creating English boards that talk about the beauty and history of the Philippines, including its position as one of the largest English speaking countries in the world. I also integrated information about the Philippines into my lessons, creating a better awareness of the country among my students and co-teachers. But most importantly, I demonstrated and shared my knowledge as an English teacher and always displayed professionalism and gregariousness in dealing with my Japanese colleagues. And it didn’t take long for the positive reputation to go around.

Outside work, I brought the Philippine-brand sunny disposition with me to the communities I joined, like my city’s Nihongo club, my Yosakoi team, my gym and dance classes, and the local church community. I also created a Youtube channel about my travels and experiences in Japan, and have since interacted with subscribers who decided to include Nagasaki in their Japan itinerary. Through all these, I have also gained Japanese friends, with my closest friend in Japan being a native. At the end of the day, I know that there will still be people who will discriminate against me, but what’s important now is that the people who matter know that I am more than just their preconceived notions. I have proven that, ultimately, it is one’s disposition and attitude towards other people that will create a lasting impression.

As for my co-ALTs, whom I initially thought would be my challenge, I have received nothing but love. With them, I truly feel that the world can be ‘colorless.’ Coming from different countries and diverse ethnicities did not become a cause for clashing, but a reason to come together and offer different views about the world, and share things that are unique about our own countries. If there are misconceptions, we are able to create dialogues in order to clarify or correct them. So far, it has been an ‘ideal world’ where anyone can strive regardless of color. I have also been able to shatter a lot of notions about the Philippines and was even able to attract people to come and visit. I have brought some of my ALT and Japanese friends to Manila, and they loved its vibrant and diverse atmosphere, and the fact that it never sleeps. Next time, we will go to the country’s beautiful beaches.

In my opinion, Japan still has a lot to learn about diversity. But as a foreigner living in Japan, I too have a lot to understand. But surely, Japan has been an avenue where I have widened my horizons and learned more about myself and other people. Certainly, as a ‘person of color,’ I will experience more challenges, but as long as I hold onto my identity and be proud of my capabilities, I don’t have to think about not being White, or Japanese. So now, my new thought is: “I am Brown. I am Filipino. I am good at what I do. Deal with it.” Haha.

by Emmanuel Feliciano, Incoming 4th year ALT in Sasebo

Photo by Diana Reyes

Leave a comment